With Omnibus Reconciliation Act (OBRA-87), New Jersey is among the many states that established the curricula for Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation Program (NATCEP).
It, in other words, means that you must undertake care training and then undergo the Competency Evaluation Program (CEP) in order to become eligible for state certification.
The program will provide you with the required skills and basic knowledge to function as a CNA in New Jersey.
Certified Nursing Assistant Training New Jersey – Pre-training Requirements
Any employer at an assisted-living facility or long-term care establishment must confirm an employee’s status, prior to offering him/her employment by visiting the Department of Health’s registry.
The registry possesses data on all CNAs within the state— including address, background verification checks, health checks, certification, and employment history.
Prior to Training
There are a number of prerequisites to undertaking a training program as a certified nursing assistant in New Jersey.
Those prerequisites include the following:
- Minimum age of 18 years
- High school or GED diploma holder
- Clean criminal record
- Immunization proof
- Results from a physical examination
- Negative tuberculosis test results
- CPR healthcare provider card
Certified Nursing Assistant Training New Jersey – Requirements During Training
The Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation Program (NATCEP) involves a minimum of 90 hours training— 50 hours of classroom-based work and 40 hours within a state-based long-term care facility that is fully certified included.
Training programs last between four and eight weeks, and often accommodate flexible hours to fit in with students’ schedules and lifestyles.
Nursing aide study consists of the following components:
– Food and nutrition
– Record keeping
– Patient transfer
– Observation and charting
– Anatomy and physiology
– Medical terminology
– Communication skills
– Personal care
– Residents’ ethics and rights
Graduates may pursue the nurse aide competency exam to get certified within 24 months of completing the training. Should the 24 months elapse, it is necessary to undergo the training once again.
How Much does it Cost?
For the entire 90 hours of training, it may cost anywhere between $800 and $1,600, depending on the provider.
Low-cost or even free training is available at a variety of locations statewide, including many Educational Opportunity Centers.
Further, occasionally an employer will offer free training to a potential job candidate as part of a welcome package. Additionally, oftentimes training costs are also reimbursed by a new employer.
New Jersey Nurse Aide Testing
Nurse aide testing (NNAAP) in New Jersey is overseen by Pearson Vue, the provider of computer-based examinations.
This process caters as the following step to nurse aide certification.
There are two parts to the evaluation:
The skills evaluation test must be taken first. Upon successful competition, you may proceed with either the oral or written test. Skills evaluation consists of five tests which are selected entirely at random by the evaluator and a score is determined based on your abilities.
If you have a preference for oral test, you should serve advanced notice to the examination coordinator. Otherwise, the written component consists of 70 multiple choice questions. The exam comes with a time limit of two hours. Both the oral and written tests are generated at random on a computer.
Results for the skills and oral or written tests will be provided at the testing site on the same day.
You’ll need to pass these tests in order to obtain a state registry listing as a certified nursing assistant in New Jersey.
Schools That Offer CNA Training In Florida Include: (the list goes below)
CNA Requirements and State Approved CNA Programs in New Jersey